Russia bans salt imports from Ukraine, USA and EU countries


Russia has introduced a ban on salt imports from the countries which supported anti-Russian sanctions, Radio Liberty reports.

“Russia will prohibit salt imports from the United States, EU countries, Canada, Australia, Norway, Ukraine, Albania, Montenegro, Iceland and Liechtenstein. Prior to the ban, Ukraine has been one of the main importers of salt to Russia,” the report states.

According to the Russian Agriculture Ministry, they will make up for the volume of salt imports by means of import substitution.

A reminder that in July one of the largest salt producers in Russia, East-Siberian Commercial and Industrial Company, passed into the control of Artem Chayka, a son of the Russian prosecutor general. In August 2016, Russia extended an embargo on food imports from a number of countries until December 31, 2017.


Readers choice: TOP-5 articles of the month by UkrAgroConsult